2022-23 MELLON PROGRAM CALENDAR

*all times are CST and subject to change

 

~June 1st

Orientation (Program Expectations, Writing, Mentors, Professionalization, etc) with Jennifer Boles and Deanna Ledezma (Albert and Nena pop in?)

July 7th

Turn in writing materials 

July 11-14 LSA CONFERENCE
Required Panels
  • Tues. 1:45-3:15 PM, Duncan N, W236, "New Directions in Latino Studies," Panel 1 with Amy (Drea) Martinez, Elizabeth Obregón, and Nathan Rossi

  • Tues. 3:30-5:00 PM, Duncan N, W236, "New Directions in Latino Studies," Panel 2 with Mauricio Patrón Rivera, Vicente Carrillo, and Ricardo Gabriel 

  • Wed. 10:15-11:45 AM, "Workshop: Publishing in Latinx Studies," Duncan N, W236

Mellon Meetings
  • Wed. 8:00-10:00 AM, Mellon 2022-23 Required Writing Workshop I, Debartolo Hall 131

  • Thursday, Close-out Meeting with 2021-22 Cohort (Time TBA)

Social Events
  • Mellon fellows and alumni coffee hour (Time and Date TBA)

  • Mellon happy hour with current Mellon fellows, staff, director, and alumni (TBA)

  • Wed., 7:00-9:00 PM, LSA Fiesta/Reception (recommended for all cohorts)

 
Dates

Job Market materials due. Upload to your respective folders by the deadline.

 

Dates

1:00-3:00 EST  Virtual One-on-One Meetings (20 minutes) with Albert Laguna. Sign up here: calendly.com/albert-laguna 

 

Dates

11:00-1:00 EST Virtual Workshop: Introduction to the Job Market

2:00-4:00 EST Virtual Workshop: The Cover Letter

 

Dates

11:00-1:00 EST Virtual Workshop: The Teaching and Diversity Statement

2:00-4:00 EST Virtual Workshop: Interviewing

 

Dates

Revise cover letter with a partner

 

Dates

Upload revised documents to your job market folder by ?. 

 

Dates

One-on-one meetings with Albert to review your documents (60 minutes). Sign up here: calendly.com/albert-laguna 

Last week of August

12:00-2:00 EST Virtual Writing workshop II (discussion and refining writing schedule, plans due)

September ?

Revise job market documents and upload to your folder for your mentor and Albert to review before the Fall Institute. 

 

 

FALL INSTITUTE

September ?

10-11:30 CST/11--12:30 EST Workshop: Lourdes Torres, Editor of Latino Studies journal

September ?

1-3:00 CST/2-3:00 EST Writing Workshop III: Discussion, refinement of writing schedule, sharing experiences)

September ?

10-11:30 CST/11-12:30 EST Meet the Alumni Panel 

12-1:30 CST/1:00-2:30 EST Workshop with Albert: Interviewing and Journal Publishing

September ?

10-11:00 CST/11:00-12:-00 EST Orientation with mentors (Mentors only)

11:30--1:15 CST/12:30-2:15 EST Mentor Panel and Breakout sessions

 

Mock Interviews:

2:00 CST/3:00 EST: Vicente and Roy

2:30 CST/3:30 EST: Andrea and Marisa

3:05 CST/4:05 EST: Ricardo and Michael

3:40 CST/4:40 EST: Mauricio and Claudia

4:15 CST/5:15 EST: Nathan and Ester 

4:50 CST/5:50 EST: Elizabeth and Alejandro

July 11-14

LSA Conference in South Bend

August 1

Final Reports Due